Jane’s Addiction

Tuesday, March 7th

Jane’s Addiction is an American rock band from Los Angeles, formed in 1985. The band consists of vocalist Perry Farrell, guitarist Dave Navarro, drummer Stephen Perkins and bassist Eric Avery. Jane’s Addiction was one of the first bands from the early 1990s alternative rock movement to gain both mainstream media attention and commercial success in the United States.

Founded by Farrell and Avery, following the disintegration of Farrell’s previous band Psi Com, Jane’s Addiction’s first release was a self-titled live album, Jane’s Addiction (1987), which caught the attention of Warner Bros. Records. The band’s first two studio albums, Nothing’s Shocking (1988) and Ritual de lo Habitual (1990), were released to widespread critical acclaim, and an increasing cult fanbase. As a result, Jane’s Addiction became icons of what Farrell dubbed the “Alternative Nation”. The band’s initial farewell tour, in 1991, launched the first Lollapalooza, which has since become a perennial alternative rock festival.

Between the years of 2012 and 2022, the band remained active with occasional tours and performances honouring their legacy. In August 2022, Avery rejoined the band after a twelve-year absence, ahead of a joint tour with the Smashing Pumpkins. Due to ongoing struggles with long COVID, Navarro was replaced by Queens of the Stone Age guitarist Troy Van Leeuwen for the duration of the tour. As the three-piece of Farrell, Avery and Perkins began working on new material, Navarro remained absent from the band. Josh Klinghoffer was announced as his touring replacement in 2023 until at least April. -via artist wiki

Rialto Theatre | 318 E Congress | Doors at 7pm



About Author

Jed Henry

Leave a Reply